Laurel Halo – Thaw

This is why I love music! The unofficial video with footage from Philippe Garrel’s ‘Le révélateur’ and the song ‘Thaw’ itself by Berlin-Based musician and producer Laurel Halo, evoke emotions in such a way only great music can do.

I feel like listening to ‘In the Aeroplane over the Sea’ for the first time once again, like going to my very first Ska-Punk-Concert melting together with the crowd in a choreography of uncoordinated movements. I feel like dancing in a room full of black light and strange sculptures to mysterious Goa-Music. I’m starting to vaguely remember watching clips of nature documentaries with the accompanying sound of french circus music, I come across abstract animations and memories of a war long-gone but ever so c lose flickering over a screen with the rough soothing sounds of Godspeed! in the background.

I feel a bit creeped out – it’s something entirely new. I encounter as yet undiscovered emotions. A slight queasyness spreads through my body. But still, I feel whole. Like this is an unknown place – but a place I always belonged.

I feel like I arrived.


Year: 2012

Genre: Electronica / Dream Pop


More From Laurel Halo:

Official Website | Soundcloud | Facebook

Leave a Reply

